Skip to content
Admission Open 2026-27Enroll NowApply Now→
Get A Consultation CallFreeCall me→
AELP Online TrainingEnroll NowEnroll Now→
Featured
confident airline pilots team standing on runway

How to Become a Pilot in India 2026: DGCA Step-by-Step

How to become a pilot in India in 2026 — real DGCA eligibility, age, medical, exams, 200 flying hours, cost and timeline. Sourced from DGCA rules.

MP
Maulik Pankhania |14 min read
Aug 3, 2026

The short answer

To become a commercial pilot in India you need to pass Class 12 with Physics and Mathematics, clear a DGCA Class 2 and then Class 1 medical, obtain a DGCA Computer Number, pass five DGCA theory papers plus the RTR(A) radio telephony exam, and complete 200 hours of flying at a DGCA-approved Flying Training Organisation. The Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL) is issued once you are 18 and have cleared the skill test.

Realistically that takes two and a half to four years and costs ₹35–55 lakh for the CPL alone, before a type rating.

This guide gives you the actual regulatory position on each step — with sources — so you can check it yourself rather than take a flying school's word for it.

Who is eligible to become a pilot in India?

DGCA sets one set of rules. Flying schools set a stricter set on top. Most guides blur the two, which is why aspirants arrive with the wrong expectations.

What DGCA requires:

RequirementDGCA position
EducationPassed 10+2 with Physics and Mathematics from a recognised board or university, or an accepted equivalent (all categories except PPL)
Minimum marksDGCA does not specify a percentage. A pass is a pass
Age — SPL16 years
Age — PPL17 years at issue
Age — CPL18 years at issue
Maximum ageNone. DGCA states there is no upper age limit to register as a flight crew candidate
MedicalClass 2 to begin; Class 1 required to exercise CPL privileges

What flying schools typically ask for on top: 50–60% aggregate, an English proficiency check, an internal aptitude test, and sometimes an interview. These are admission filters set by the FTO's own commercial policy. They are not law, and they vary school to school — so a rejection from one FTO on marks is not a rejection from the profession.

Worth knowing: the "you need 50% in Physics and Maths" line is repeated on almost every pilot-training website in India. It does not appear in DGCA's stated eligibility for a Computer Number. Ask any school quoting it to show you which of their own criteria it is.

Verified from: DGCA Pariksha portal FAQ (pariksha.dgca.gov.in), checked 27 July 2026.

Do you still need Physics and Maths in Class 12?

Yes — as of July 2026, the requirement still stands. You have probably read otherwise, so here is the actual sequence:

A recommendation is not a notification. Until the amendment is gazetted, plan as though the requirement applies. Several websites have already reported the change as complete — do not restructure your Class 12 choices on that basis.

If you took Commerce, Arts or PCB

You are not disqualified. You need to pass Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level through an accepted route — most commonly the National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS), which runs on-demand examinations. DGCA accepts NIOS marksheets for Computer Number issue on the same footing as CBSE, ICSE or a state board.

Two practical cautions:

The medical comes first — and here is why that matters financially

The single most expensive mistake in Indian pilot training is paying a school deposit before finding out you are medically ineligible.

Class 2 medical — conducted by a DGCA-authorised medical examiner. This is the entry gate: you need it before registering on the portal and before starting flight training.

Class 1 medical — the full assessment, conducted at DGCA-authorised medical assessment centres. Required to exercise CPL privileges. It covers detailed ophthalmology, ENT and audiometry, ECG and cardiac evaluation, blood and urine work, chest imaging and lung function.

 Class 2Class 1
Needed forSPL, PPL, starting trainingCPL, ATPL, commercial flying
Typical cost₹2,500–4,000₹5,000–10,000 (excluding additional tests)
ValidityVaries by age band — confirm with DGCA12 months for pilots under 40

What actually fails people

Do this before anything else: book a Class 2 medical, or at minimum an Ishihara colour vision test, in your final school year. It costs a few thousand rupees. It is the cheapest ₹40 lakh decision you will ever make.

Specific refractive limits and validity bands are set by DGCA and revised from time to time. Confirm your own case with a DGCA-approved Aviation Medical Examiner — do not rely on a figure quoted on any website, including this one.

DGCA Computer Number and the Pariksha portal

Before you can sit a single DGCA exam, you need a Computer Number — a unique 10-digit ID issued by DGCA's Central Examination Organisation. It is free, it is issued once, and it is valid for life.

You apply on the DGCA Pariksha portal (pariksha.dgca.gov.in) under the Flight Crew section.

Documents you will need: Class 10 and Class 12 marksheets and pass certificates (showing Physics and Mathematics for CPL), proof of date of birth, proof of address, photograph and signature.

Two recent process changes worth knowing:

Get your name and date of birth to match your Class 10 certificate exactly. Mismatches are the most common cause of rejected applications.

The DGCA theory exams

There are five DGCA theory papers, plus a separate radio telephony examination.

PaperCovers
Air NavigationNavigation, flight planning, instruments
Aviation MeteorologyWeather theory, charts, forecasting
Air RegulationsIndian and ICAO rules of the air
Technical GeneralAerodynamics, engines, systems
Technical SpecificThe specific aircraft type you train on

Pass mark: 70% in each paper. There is no negative marking. You do not have to clear them in one sitting — a passed subject stays valid for five years, so most candidates take two or three papers per attempt.

Sessions: DGCA conducts examinations roughly four times a year through the Pariksha portal, in addition to on-demand examinations. Plan your ground school around the session calendar; missing a window costs you months, not weeks.

RTR(A) — the Radio Telephony Restricted (Aeronautical) certificate — is a separate examination with its own rules and its own schedule, covering a practical transmission test and an oral. It is not one of the five DGCA papers, and the rules around it were revised in 2025.

→ DGCA RTR(A) Exam 2025: New Rules After WPC Transfer

→ DGCA CPL Exam Pattern & Syllabus 2026

Ground classes typically run 6–12 months. You can begin ground school and clear theory papers before you turn 18 — many students who start early are CPL-ready by 20 or 21.

Choosing a flying school — and verifying it

There are roughly 40 active DGCA-approved Flying Training Organisations in India. This is where most of your money goes and where most of the risk sits.

Verify approval status before you pay anything

DGCA suspends and restricts FTOs. A suspended school can still run a website, still run ads, and still take your deposit.

Check three things, in this order:

  1. Current DGCA approval status — on the DGCA site, not the school's site.
  2. Current position in the DGCA FTO ranking. DGCA announced the ranking framework by public notice on 8 July 2025 and implemented it from 1 October 2025. Rankings are published twice a year, with the second edition due 1 April 2026. Schools are graded into categories; in the first cycle no Indian FTO reached the top grade and a large majority landed in the lowest.
  3. Actual completion times, not advertised ones. Ask for the average months-to-CPL for students who enrolled two years ago, and ask how many aircraft are currently serviceable.

→ Top Flight Training Organisations (FTOs) in India 2026

→ Browse DGCA-approved institutes on Apano

What separates a good FTO from a cheap one

Aircraft-to-student ratio. Instructor retention. Weather days at that location. Whether the fleet includes a multi-engine aircraft or you will be sent elsewhere for those hours. Whether the quoted fee includes landing fees, fuel surcharge, examiner fees and accommodation — most quoted fees do not.

Flying training: SPL to PPL to CPL

StageMinimum flyingWhat it lets you do
Student Pilot Licence (SPL)—Train under instruction. Requires Class 2 medical
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)40 hours, including soloFly privately, not for hire or reward
Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL)200 hours totalFly commercially, for remuneration

Those 200 hours are not 200 hours of the same thing. They break down across solo flying, cross-country navigation, night flying, instrument time and dual instruction, with a multi-engine and instrument rating component. The exact composition is set by DGCA and your FTO will map it for you.

The 200-hour figure is India's minimum. Foreign regulators sit in a similar 200–250 hour band, which is why hour-building abroad and converting later is a common route — though conversion has its own exams, conversion flying and a fresh DGCA Class 1.

Full-time flying training to 200 hours realistically takes 18–24 months, and it is weather- and fleet-dependent. Monsoon months, aircraft unserviceability and instructor availability are the three things that stretch timelines.

How long does it actually take?

 MarketedRealistic
Ground school + theory papers6 months6–12 months
Flying training to 200 hrs12 months18–24 months
Licence issue and paperwork—1–3 months
Total to CPL in hand18 months2.5–4 years

Add 2–4 months for a type rating, and then a variable wait for a first officer position.

Anyone quoting you 18 months as a firm number is quoting a best case that assumes you clear every paper first attempt, never lose a training month to weather or maintenance, and never wait for a DGCA session.

What it costs

Ballpark, for the CPL route in India:

Line itemTypical range
Ground classes₹1–2 lakh
DGCA exam fees₹25,000–40,000
Class 2 + Class 1 medicals₹10,000–12,000 initial
Books and study material₹40,000–1 lakh
Flying training (200 hrs)₹35–50 lakh
CPL subtotal₹35–55 lakh
Type rating (A320 / B737)₹15–25 lakh, usually separate

Premium Indian FTOs, and training abroad followed by conversion, push the all-in figure higher — up to around ₹80 lakh once a type rating is included. Fees also move with fuel prices and aircraft availability.

Can you become a pilot without money?

Not for free — but the ₹40 lakh does not have to come from savings.

Be sceptical of any "become a pilot free" claim outside the armed forces or a fully funded cadet scheme.

After the CPL: what nobody tells you

A CPL is a licence, not a job.

Type rating. Airlines fly A320s and 737s. Your CPL was earned on a light single and a light twin. A type rating on the aircraft the airline operates costs ₹15–25 lakh and is usually not included in your training quote.

The first job. Entry is as a Junior First Officer or First Officer, generally through an airline's own selection process — application, written test, psychometric and aptitude assessment, simulator check and interview. Some airlines bond you for a period against the training they fund.

Where the jobs are. IndiGo and Air India dominate hiring, alongside Air India Express, Akasa Air and SpiceJet. Beyond scheduled carriers: charter and business aviation, cargo operations, flight instruction at an FTO (a common and useful way to build hours and income), and offshore or utility helicopter operations with additional ratings.

Two names still listed in older guides are worth correcting: Go First ceased operations in 2023, and Vistara merged into Air India in November 2024. Neither is hiring.

→ Pilot Salary in India 2026: Per Month, By Airline & Rank

Special cases

Women. There is no separate eligibility path, no different medical standard and no different licence. India already has one of the highest proportions of women airline pilots in the world. The requirements on this page apply identically.

Career changers over 25. DGCA sets no upper age limit for licence issue or exam registration. What changes with age is commercial: airlines factor in remaining career runway, and a CPL is valid to age 65. Starting at 25 or 28 is entirely workable. Starting at 40 is possible but the economics need honest scrutiny.

Diploma holders. A three-year engineering diploma after Class 10 that includes Physics and Mathematics may be accepted as equivalent to 10+2. Confirm with DGCA directly before enrolling anywhere.

Civil pilot vs Indian Air Force pilot

Two different careers that share a cockpit.

 Civil (CPL)Indian Air Force
Cost to you₹35–55 lakhNil — you are paid to train
Entry routeSelf-funded via an FTONDA, CDS, AFCAT, NCC Special Entry
SelectionSchool admissionAFSB, competitive, low selection rate
CommitmentNoneFixed service commitment
Later crossover—Many ex-IAF pilots move to airlines

If cost is your blocker, the IAF route deserves serious study rather than a footnote.

Sources and verification

Regulatory positions on this page were checked against the following on 27 July 2026. Rules change; verify anything you are about to spend money on.

Medical standards, fee ranges and FTO status change without notice. Confirm your medical eligibility with a DGCA-approved Aviation Medical Examiner and confirm any school's approval status with DGCA directly before making a payment.

Frequently Asked Questions

Class 12 (10+2) passed with Physics and Mathematics from a recognised board, or an accepted equivalent such as NIOS. DGCA does not specify a minimum percentage — individual flying schools do, commonly 50–60%. You also need a DGCA Class 2 medical to begin and a Class 1 to fly commercially.
16 for a Student Pilot Licence, 17 for a Private Pilot Licence, and 18 for a Commercial Pilot Licence at the date of issue. DGCA sets no maximum age.
No. There is no national entrance exam for civil pilot training in India. JEE, NEET and similar exams are irrelevant to a CPL. What you must clear are the DGCA theory examinations and RTR(A), plus whatever internal admission test your chosen flying school sets. Airline cadet programmes and the Indian Air Force run their own selection processes.
Yes. You need to pass Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level through an accepted route, most commonly NIOS on-demand examinations. DGCA recommended removing this requirement in 2025, but as of July 2026 it has not been notified — so plan for it.
Two and a half to four years in practice: 6–12 months of ground school and theory papers, 18–24 months of flying to reach 200 hours, plus licence processing. Marketed timelines of 18 months assume nothing goes wrong.
Roughly ₹35–55 lakh for the CPL route in India, excluding a type rating, which adds a further ₹15–25 lakh. Cost varies with the school, the aircraft type, exam re-attempts and whether the quote includes landing fees, fuel surcharges and accommodation.
Usually yes. DGCA does not require uncorrected 6/6 vision — corrected acuity must reach 6/6 and your prescription must sit within DGCA's refractive limits. Colour vision deficiency, however, is treated as disqualifying for unrestricted commercial flying. Get tested before you commit money.
200 hours total, including solo, cross-country, night and instrument time, with multi-engine and instrument rating components.
Five theory papers — Air Navigation, Aviation Meteorology, Air Regulations, Technical General and Technical Specific — each needing 70%. RTR(A) is a separate examination. Passed subjects remain valid for five years, and DGCA holds around four sessions a year plus on-demand exams.
Around 40 active DGCA-approved Flying Training Organisations. Since October 2025 DGCA also publishes a bi-annual performance ranking of these FTOs — check it, and check current approval status, before paying any deposit.

Tags

Response (0)

Be the 1st One to Comment!

Recommendations

WhatsApp